NPUAP announces the conclusion of its Biennial Conference, February 22-23, 2013 in The Woodlands (Houston), TX

March 8, 2013

The 13th NPUAP International Biennial Conference “Deep Tissue Injury: State of the Science” included over 400 participants representing 14 countries. The 2-day program focused on the clinical, basic science and translational endeavors representing all facets of pressure ulcer diagnosis and treatment. A parallel track engaged clinicians and thought leaders in consensus building designed to codify what is known about deep tissue injury as well as identifying issues that should receive attention.

The awards banquet highlighted the work of many in the field. Recipients included Laura Edsberg, PhD and Mary Ellen Posthauer, RD, CD, LD for the Kosiak Awards, Shilpa Krishnan received the Roberta Abruzzese Award, Barbara Pieper, PhD, FNP, CWOCN, ACNS-BC received the President’s Special Recognition Award, and JoAnn Maklebust, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, ACON, FAAN received the Lifetime Achievement Award.  The keynote presenters were CMS Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr. Shari M. Ling and Stella Mandl from the CMS Office of Clinical Standards and Quality.

On April 17 NPUAP will be holding a webinar to share the results of the Consensus Conference.  For more information about this webinar please click HERE.